How to disable FaceTime to avoid the bug of forced listening

0
9

A major bug in the Apple FaceTime application was announced Monday, allowing anyone with an iPhone, iPad or Mac to listen to other users without their knowledge. Apple said Monday night that it was aware of the problem, that he was working on a fix and that he would publish it in a software update later this week.

In the meantime, Apple has disabled Group FaceTime, the feature that allowed surreptitious listening, which should temporarily solve the problem. But for those who want an extra layer of security, follow these steps to disable FaceTime on your devices.

Before doing anything, you must make sure that your Apple device has been affected by the glitch. It exists on iOS devices with the latest software updates, starting with iOS 12.1, which was released in October. This release introduced the Group FaceTime feature.

To check your iOS version, open the "Settings" app, scroll down the list and select "General," then click "About." In the following list you will see a line labeled "Version" followed by the operating system under. your device. It can say 12.1.3, the latest iOS update.

If your iOS is 12.1 or newer, such as 12.1.3, your device may be in danger. If it is 12.0 or older, you are clear.

On Macs, the Group FaceTime feature was introduced in October, starting with MacOS 10.14.1. Check your version of MacOS by selecting the Apple icon at the top left of your screen and clicking on "About This Mac". The latest version is MacOS 10.14.3.

On an iOS device, open "Settings" again. Scroll down until you see "FaceTime" and select it. This part is simple: press the green button in the top row to disable FaceTime. The button should turn gray and everything below it, such as your application settings, should disappear.

Apple says that it is not necessary to remove the application on your home screen after following this step, but nothing prevents you.

Just note that if you turn off FaceTime, your phone will not receive any type of FaceTime call, including a video, audio or group chat. Regular phone calls will not be affected.

To disable FaceTime on Mac, open the application (which may be in your dock or in your Applications folder), select "FaceTime" at the top left of the application, then select "Preferences" . Click on "Logout".

Apple said a software update whose release is expected later this week should solve the FaceTime group bug. When it is announced, be sure to update your devices by going to "Settings", then "General" and selecting "Software Update". On the Mac, download the update by clicking on the Apple icon at the top left of your screen. by selecting "System Preferences" and clicking "Software Update".

After that, reactivate the FaceTime application by following step 2. On iOS devices, turn on the FaceTime button in "Settings" until it turns green again. It may take some time for your old settings and account information to reappear. On a Mac, open the application again and log in again under "Preferences".

And if you have deleted the app on your iPhone or iPad, you can download it again via the App Store.